Monday, February 26, 2024

Denton County replaces ESD treasurer

The Denton County Commissioners Court last week ended Jon Donahue near-decade run as a board member for Denton County Emergency Services District No. 1.

Donahue’s term is expiring at the end of this month, and the court decided to not re-appoint him. His replacement will be Lantana resident Sheldon Gilbert, a former fire chief.

Donahue, an Argyle resident for more than 25 years, has been actively involved in the community for decades. He served as a board member, treasurer and board president on the Argyle Fire District Board from 2000-14, and served on the Argyle Town Council from 2017-19. He had served on the ESD board since 2013.

Donahue could not be reached for comment.

Denton County officials are staying tight-lipped about their reasoning for replacing Donahue, though it appears to be part of the fallout of last month’s indictment and arrest of longtime Argyle Fire Chief Mac Hohenberger, who allegedly stole nearly $500,000 from fire department payroll funding to pay for his personal credit card expenses. County commissioners discussed the change in executive session, and approved the resolution with no public comment. This week, Precinct 4 Commissioner Dianne Edmondson declined to say why Donahue is being replaced, only saying, “The court felt it was time for a change.”

Mark Smith
Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week