Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Filing period ends for local elections

The filing period for local office has now come and gone.

Filing began on Jan. 13 for a place on the May 1, 2021 General Election ballot, and all applications had to be filed by 5 p.m. on Friday. As of 5 p.m., below is a list of all the candidates for the local races that will be on the ballot this spring. The information is according to town and school district websites. It will be updated if any last-minute applicants are added. If any entities end up having no contested races, they will cancel their election.



  • Bryan Livingston

Town Council Place 2

  • Ron Schmidt (i)

Town Council Place 4

  • Cynthia Hermann (i)


Town Council Place 1

  • Jim Roberts
  • Jeff Traylor (i)

Town Council Place 3

  • Clay Sams (i)

Town Council Place 5

  • Justin Northeim
  • Josh Phillips (i)

Copper Canyon


  • Greg Porter
  • Ron Robertson (i)

Town Council Place 2

  • Larry Johnson
  • Ted Stranczek (i)

Town Council Place 4

  • Dale Andrews
  • Robin Douglas-Davis (i)

Double Oak


  • Von Beougher

Town Council (2 seats)

  • Patrick Johnson
  • Casey Parsons
  • Scott Whisenhunt (i)

Flower Mound


  • Stephanie Bell
  • Derek France
  • Itamar Gelbman
  • Cheryl Moore
  • Jehangir Raja

Town Council Place 4

  • Jim Engel (i)

Highland Village

City Council Place 3

  • Andrew Crawford
  • Mike Lombardo (i)

City Council Place 5

  • Jason Bates
  • Tom Heslep (i)

City Council Place 7

  • Dan Jaworski (i)



  • David Rettig (i)

Town Council Place 4

  • Roger Sessions (i)

Town Council Place 5

  • Bill Moore
  • Danny Simpson (i)

Argyle ISD

Board of Trustees Place 4

  • Phyllis Clark
  • Ritchie Deffenbaugh (i)

Board of Trustees Place 5

  • Leona McDade (i)

Denton ISD

Board of Trustees Place 1

  • Barbara Burns (i)
  • Kathy Tillman

Board of Trustees Place 2

  • Amy Bundgus
  • Sheryl English

Lewisville ISD

Board of Trustees Place 1

  • Buddy Bonner
  • Paige Dixon

Board of Trustees Place 2

  • Allison Lassahn (i)
  • Sheila Taylor

Northwest ISD

Board of Trustees Place 1

  • DeAnne Hatfield (i)

Board of Trustees Place 2

  • Kevin Lebanik
  • Mark Schluter (i)


All elections in Denton County are overseen by the Denton County Elections Administration, 701 Kimberly Drive, Suite A101 in Denton. Questions about early voting via mail (absentee) or in-person, specific voter identification information or restrictions are available at: [email protected] or by phone at 940-349-3200.

All voters are required to present an approved form of photo identification; visit: www.votetexas.gov for specifics. Examples of acceptable forms of ID include: driver’s license; election ID certificate; DPS Texas personal ID card; concealed/open-carry handgun license; U.S. Military ID card; U.S. citizenship certificate; or U.S. Passport. All forms of ID may not have expired over 60-days.

Most answers to questions about upcoming elections can be found at: www.votedenton.com.

Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week