Town adopts place system for council members

The Bartonville Town Council narrowly approved an ordinance Tuesday that will institute a place system for future town elections.

Going forward, each Alderman will be assigned an even or odd number in accordance with the year their term of office expires.

The Alderman Place numbers will be assigned as follows:

Place 1 – Carla Anderson (2011)
Place 2 – Jim Farrell (2012)
Place 3 – James Ashburn (2011)
Place 4 – Gracie Egan (2012)
Place 5 – Bill Reaves (2011)

Candidates will now file for a specific place to be elected at large, since the places are not geographically based.

Town officials noted that most of the surrounding town’s utilize the same election method.

Candidate packets are now available for the May 14, 2011 General Election.

This year, three citizens will be elected at large to each serve a two year term as Alderman for Places 1, 3 and 5. These positions are currently held by Carla Anderson, James Ashburn, and Bill Reaves.

The terms of office will be from May 2011 to May 2013.

The deadline to submit an application is Monday, March 14th.  The deadline to declare candidacy as a write-in candidate is Monday, March 21st.  The candidate packet and forms can be viewed and downloaded at

Related Articles

Popular This Week