Monday, May 16, 2022

Candidates file for primary elections

Monday was the last day to file for a place on the ballot in the March 3, 2020 primary elections.

Here is the lineup of candidates who have filed for office in Denton County.

Position Term Incumbent Status Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
U.S. Representative, Dist. 24 2 years Kenny Marchant (R) Not running Beth Van Duyne, David Fegan, Sunny Chaparala, Desi Maes, Jeron Liverman John Biggan, Richard Fleming, Crystal Fletcher, Jan McDowell, Kim Olson, Candace Valenzuela
U.S. Representative, Dist. 26 2 years Michael Burgess (R) Filed Jason Mrochek, Jack Wyman, Michael Armstrong Carol Iannuzzi, Mat Pruneda, Neal Durrance
Railroad Commissioner 6 years Ryan Sitton (R) Filed James (Jim) Wright Chrysta Castañeda, Roberto Alonzo, Mark Watson, Kelly Stone
Chief Justice, Supreme Ct. 6 years Nathan Hecht (R) Filed Amy Meachum, Gerald Zimmerer
Supreme Court, Place 6

Jeff Brown to Federal court.

4 years


Jane Bland (R)

appointed 8-26-19

Filed Lawrence Praeger, Kathy Cheng
Supreme Court, Place 7 6 years Jeffrey Boyd (R) Filed Staci Williams, Brandy Voss
Supreme Court, Place 8 6 years Brett Busby (R) Filed Gisela Triana, Peter M. Kelly
Ct. of Criminal Appeals, Pl 3 6 years Bert Richardson (R) Filed Gina Parker Elizabeth D. Frizell, Dan Wood, Jr., William P. Demond
Ct. of Criminal Appeals, Pl 4 6 years Kevin Yeary (R) Filed Steve Miears, Tina Clinton
Ct. of Criminal Appeals, Pl 9 6 years David Newell (R) Filed Brandon T. Birmingham
State Board of Education, Dist. 14 See note Sue Melton-Malone (R) Filed Maria Y. Berry Greg Alvord
State Senate, District 12 See note Jane Nelson (R) Filed Randy Daniels, Shadi Zitoon
State Rep., District 63 2 years Tan Parker (R) Filed Leslie Peeler
State Rep., District 64 2 years Lynn Stucky (R) Filed Angela Brewer
State Rep., District 65 2 years Michelle Beckley (D) Filed Kronda Thimesch

Nancy Cline

Paige Dixon
State Rep., District 106 2 years Jared Patterson (R) Filed James Trombley Jennifer Skidonenko

Note: State senate and state board of education are four-year terms. Due to redistricting in 2021, all seats will be up in 2022. Those elected in 2022 will draw for 2-year or 4-year initial terms.

Position Term Incumbent Status Republican Candidates Democratic Candidates
2nd Court of Appeals, Pl 2 6 years Dana Womack (R) Filed
2nd Court of Appeals, Pl 6

Mark Pittman to Federal court.

4 years


Mike Wallach (R)

appointed 9-3-19

Filed Delonia A. Watson
2nd Court of Appeals, Pl 7 6 years Lee Gabriel (R) Not running John P. Chupp

Brian Walker

Judge, 16th District Court 4 years Sherry Shipman (R) Filed
Judge, 362nd District Court 4 years Bruce McFarling (R) Filed
Judge, 393rd District Court 4 years Doug Robison (R) Filed
Judge, 431st District Court 4 years Jonathan Bailey (R) Not running Jim Johnson

Derbha Jones

Cannon Cain

George Mitcham

Diana Weitzel
Judge, 442nd District Court 4 years Tiffany Haertling (R) Filed
Judge, 462nd District Court 4 years Lee Ann Breading (R) Filed
Sheriff 4 years Tracy Murphree (R) Filed Brian “Wilkie” Wilkinson

Dugan Broomfield

Tax Assessor-Collector 4 years Michelle French (R) Filed
Commissioner, Pct. 1 4 years Hugh Coleman (R) Filed Ryan Williams Sandy Swan
Commissioner, Pct.3 4 years Bobbie Mitchell (R) Filed Delia Parker-Mims
Constable, Pct. 1 4 years Johnny Hammons (R) Filed
Constable, Pct. 2 4 years Michael Truitt (R) Filed
Constable, Pct. 3 4 years Jerry Raburn (R) Retiring Jeri Rodriguez

Dan Rochelle

Constable, Pct. 4 4 years Tim Burch (R) Filed Danny Fletcher
Constable, Pct. 5 4 years Doug Boydston (R) Filed
Constable, Pct. 6 4 years Richard Bachus (R) Filed
County Chairman 2 years Jayne Howell (R)

Anjelita Cadena (D)

Filed  Ira Bershad

List courtesy of Richard Steenson

Denton County Republican Party
Denton County Democrats website
Texas Republican Party website
Texas Secretary of State website

CTG Staff
The Cross Timbers Gazette News Department

Related Articles

Popular This Week