Thursday, June 8, 2023

Local students named National Merit semifinalists

Photo courtesy of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced Wednesday the names of about 16,000 semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including many from southern Denton County.

The academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring, according to a NMSC news release. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

NMSC, a nonprofit, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

The local students who were name semifinalists include:

Guyer High

  • Daniel Cho
  • Braden Gee
  • Hasan Mubarak

Coram Deo Academy

  • William Clevenger

Homeschool (Flower Mound)

  • Joseph Petchauer

Marcus High

  • Evan Bailey
  • Chaitanya Bashyam
  • Risha Bhuta
  • Riya Bhuta
  • Ayra Charania
  • Victoria Cheshire
  • Savannah DeCrow
  • Katelyn Harvey
  • Madison Ibe
  • Srisha Jayakumar
  • Sakshi Krishna
  • Annette Nguyen
  • Spencer Phan
  • Sarah Saleem
  • Rhea Varma

Flower Mound High

  • Shruthi Annapureddy
  • Caden Arras
  • Sean Berry
  • Jonathon Cattoor
  • Jared Cluff
  • Aurora Cooley
  • Julian Cope
  • Jorge Adan Corral
  • Lillian Crawford
  • Meenakshi Dara
  • Luke Farinelli
  • Nikhil Guddati
  • Saumya Gunampalli
  • Tarun Gunampalli
  • Eric Haddad
  • Ellie Heredia
  • Thomas Kall
  • Brian Lee
  • Ryan Lee
  • Shreya Lingam
  • Jane Luo
  • Travis McFarling
  • Raashi Mohan
  • Avinash Nair
  • Tanvi Oswal
  • Ishita Palit
  • Malika Rao
  • Saee Risbud
  • Elizabeth Roeling
  • Nithin Samy
  • Akhila Srinivas
  • Aarthi Srinivasan
  • Emily Su
  • Michelle Sun
  • Samantha Surdek
  • John Teague
  • Kendall Tubbs
  • Chukwusom Uzowihe
Mark Smith
Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week