Saturday, June 10, 2023

Argyle, Denton, Flower Mound earn Scenic City certifications

Three municipalities in Denton County were recognized last week as 2019 Certified Scenic City award recipients.

Argyle, Denton and Flower Mound are three of the 21 Texas cities recognized through the Scenic City Certification Program, which is run by Scenic Texas and its partner organizations, according to a Scenic Texas news release. The Scenic City Certification Program recognizes cities for their demonstrated commitment to high-quality scenic standards for public roadways and spaces.

Assessment is points-based, and every city applicant receives a detailed, scored evaluation that identifies both strengths and areas for improvement. Official certification is earned by cities that score points in the upper range and meet threshold standards for landscaping, tree planting, and sign regulation.

“Through the Scenic City Certification Program, cities access a low cost, high rate-of-return diagnostic tool,” said Sarah Tober, Scenic Texas Executive Director. “The detailed evaluation of existing infrastructure standards provides cities with a roadmap for future growth and development. As municipalities continue to aspire to certification and our highest level of recognition, platinum, it is a reflection of communities working to make a more scenic Texas for citizens and visitors.”

Argyle earned certification for the first time and has a silver ranking. Denton was re-certified gold, and Flower Mound re-certified platinum.

Mark Smith
Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week