Friday, April 12, 2024

Local students win college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

Photo courtesy of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced Wednesday over 3,500 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities, including nearly two dozen students from southern Denton County.

Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists
in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution, according to a news release from the NMSC. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2019 competition to about 4,100. Earlier this spring, the NMSC announced winners of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. The total number of Merit Scholarship winners in the U.S. will be about 7,600.

The following students received college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships:

Argyle High School

  • Timothy Davis, Texas A&M University

Coram Deo Academy

  • Aaron Dutka, Texas A&M University

Flower Mound High School

  • Likhit Agrawal, University of Texas at Dallas
  • William Cao, Emory University
  • Maya Dayal, Southern Methodist University
  • William Pardue, TCU
  • Campbell Pipkin, Drake University
  • Allison Reed, University of South Carolina
  • Benton Smith, University of Oklahoma
  • Mayson Spillman, University of Kentucky
  • Garrett Webb, Southern Methodist University

Marcus High School

  • Chloe Agis, University of North Texas
  • Callie Bailey, Texas A&M University
  • Madigan Blake, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Austin Green, Oklahoma State University
  • Nathan Hardee, Texas A&M University
  • Lalita Kunamneni, Texas A&M University
  • Teresa McGee, University of Oklahoma
  • Ryan Shuda, Baylor University
  • Nimisha Srikanth, Texas A&M University
  • Jeremy Thomas, Texas A&M University
  • Sean Watson, Texas A&M University

Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science

  • Ethan Hardy (of Flower Mound), Texas A&M University

Mark Smith
Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week