Monday, October 2, 2023

Argyle teacher is a finalist for presidential award for excellence

Brenda Williams (photo courtesy of Argyle ISD).

Argyle Intermediate School teacher Brenda Williams is a finalist for the presidential award for excellence in teaching math and science, according to the Argyle ISD.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government for K-12 mathematics and science teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the president may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year. Awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools or the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands), according to the school district.

The award recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Since the program’s inception, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Recipients of the award receive the following, according to the district:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States.
  • A paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.
  • An opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation.

Mark Smith
Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week