Education foundation award teachers

The Argyle ISD Education Foundation recently announced the Golden Eagle Teacher Excellence Awards and the Lisa MZ Golden Eagle District Teacher of the Year award at the Argyle ISD End of the Year Dinner.

The 2011-12 Golden Eagle Campus winners are: Hilltop Elementary School, Nancy Nytomt; Argyle Intermediate School, Julie Lyle; Argyle Middle School, Abby Nelson; and Argyle High School, Kimberly Kass.

The Lisa MZ Golden Eagle District Teacher of the Year is Kimberly Kass, Argyle High School.

The Golden Eagle Teacher Excellence Awards program, with funding initiated by the Miles Foundation, is a community-wide nominating and selection process where parents, students, fellow teachers, administrators, and community members alike may nominate teachers in recognition of their teaching excellence.

Teachers who choose to continue the selection process complete applications outlining their teaching background, experience, and accomplishments as well as community involvement.

Teacher applications and nominations are reviewed by an independent panel of judges from outside the district. One teacher is selected from each campus to appear before the judges for a personal interview to become the Lisa MZ Golden Eagle District Teacher of the Year.

Each campus winner receives a cash award and the Lisa MZ Teacher of the Year receives an additional cash award made possible through the Lisa MZ Endowment. These awards have no spending restrictions and are given in recognition of excellence in classroom teaching.

Contact Mary Stein [email protected], 940-464-7241, extension 9000 for more information or to donate to the Golden Eagle Teacher of Excellence Program.

Related Articles

Popular This Week