Voters head to the polls today

The polls will be open today for municipal elections in most southern Denton County communities. Here is a rundown of the races and polling places by town:

Argyle – Incumbent mayor Greg Landrum is facing challenges from long-time council member and commercial real estate agent Dona Schroetke and local business owner Matt Smith.  See how the candidates stack up here.

Town Council member Wayne Holt is vying to keep his Place 2 seat against newcomer David Wintermute.

Bonny Haynes is running unopposed for another term on council in Place 4.

A special election is also being held for the re-authorization of one quarter percent of the local sales and use tax to continue providing revenue for maintenance and repair of town streets.

Argyle residents will cast their votes at Town Hall, located at 308 Denton Street.

Bartonville – Three council seats are up for grabs today.

In Place 1, investment banker Wendy Wipperman is challenging longtime incumbent and current Mayor Pro Tem, Carla Anderson.

Two newcomers, Norma Harrington and Ryan Litherland, are vying for the Place 3 seat.

Four-year incumbent Bill Reaves is being contested by Bill Scherer in Place 5.

Evaluate the candidates here.

Bartonville voters in Precinct 417 will cast their ballots at Bartonville Town Hall, 1941 E. Jeter Road, while residents in Precinct 422 will vote at Double Oak Town Hall, 320 Waketon Road.

Copper Canyon – Three-term mayor Sue Tejml is looking to retain her seat against business owner David Linder.

Long time Place 2 council member Jeff Mangum is being challenged by Mike Sommers.

Place 4 has attracted two newcomers: Mike Brasberger and Charlie Nicholas.

Voting for Copper Canyon residents will be conducted at Bartonville Town Center, 2652 FM 407, Suite 125, in Bartonville.

Flower Mound – The tightly contested town council Place 1 race involves Kendra Stephenson and Jeff Whittaker, who is backed by Mayor Melissa Northern and council members Al Filidoro and Steve Lyda.

Write-in candidate Elwood Leonard is facing Mark Wise in Place 3.

Incumbent Tom Hayden is running unopposed in Place 5.

Flower Mound residents in precincts 303, 304, 307, 314, 317, 320, 323, 409, 420, 423, 424, 425, 428 can vote at the Flower Mound Police and Courts Building Community Room, 4150 Kirkpatrick Lane.

Voters in Precinct 413 will cast their ballots at Roanoke City Hall, 108 S Oak St. in Roanoke.

Precinct 417 voters will go to Bartonville Town Hall, 1941 E Jeter Road in Bartonville.

Precincts 419 and 422 will vote at Double Oak Town Hall, 320 Waketon Rd. in Double Oak.
For Flower Mound residents living in Tarrant County’s Precinct 3321, the Grapevine Community Activities Center, 1175 Municipal Way in Grapevine is their polling place.

Lewisville ISD – Area residents who live within the boundaries of the Lewisville school district will choose board members in Place 6 and 7.

In Place 6, Incumbent Amber Fulton is being challenged by Double Oak business owner Mike McDaniel, and Reginald Johnson is looking to unseat Carol Kyer in Place 7.

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. today.  To find your polling location, search Denton County’s Voter Registration Database here.

Related Articles

Popular This Week