Change for CF

Flower Mound’s Bridlewood and Liberty Elementary schools recently teamed up with Lantana’s E.P. Rayzor Elementary to see how their pennies could make a Change for CF.  Kindergartners through fifth graders brought in $7,627 in change for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

The winning school, Bridlewood Elementary, raising $3,817 of the total, received a visit from CoServ’s Dennis Engelke with an announcement about a winning grant from the CoServ Charitable Foundation to add to the total.

Engelke presented a $5,000 check for CF research to Bridlewood Elementary principal Mike Rogers, secretary Shelley Morrow and student council coordinator Rayanne Good, along with members of the student council.

Classrooms at some of the schools that brought in the most change earned parties to celebrate.

At Liberty Elementary, Mrs. Melinda Pool’s fourth grade class enjoyed a Happy Meal party, with food provided by the Flower Mound McDonald’s at FM 2499 & 3040. Bridlewood’s winning classrooms – Mr. Shurtleff’s 5th grade class and Mrs. Dixon’s 1st grade class – were treated to a popcorn party.

“The real reward is knowing that we can prolong the lives of these young people who struggle every day just to breathe,” said Rachel Driscoll, a Double Oak mother of two and co-coordinator of the change drive.

“I’ve been involved with fundraising for the CFF for more than eight years, ever since learning that my neighbor’s little boy had CF.”

Jennifer Laplante, Bridlewood mom and co-coordinator for Change for CF, added, “I fight for a cure because CF families spend all their time, resources and energy keeping their child out of the hospital. As a volunteer on their behalf, I can work toward the day when CF stands for Cure Found.”

Learn more about the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation at

Pictured in front of the Bridlewood Mustang (left to right in the front row): Sean Watson, Coralie Domergue, Tyler Sureddin, Sean Virant, Jake Page, Aidan Davis, Andrew Thien and Lucas Stanfield. Second row: Erika Thomson, Teri Higgins, Cole Goode and Vivek Chilakamarri. Third row: Shelley Morrow, CoServ’s Dennis Engelke, Rayanne Good, Rachel Driscoll, Principal Mike Rogers and Jennifer Laplante.

Related Articles

Popular This Week