Sunday, September 25, 2022

Driven Youth League Champs

The Driven Youth Football League held their Flower Mound City Championship for the age 9 & 10 bracket on Saturday, Nov. 13, at Flower Mound High School.

The Ohio State Buckeyes beat the Texas Tech Red Raiders 34–6 continuing their domination of DYFL. The Buckeyes outscored their three opponents in the playoffs by a score of 67–6. 

Ohio State was led by Double Oak’s Ryan “The Rocket Arm” Rogers who threw for five TDs in the playoffs and ran for 2 more. 

Zach Auerbach of Lantana had 3 TD receptions, 1 TD rushing, and 1 Kickoff Return for a TD, and Boston Barron of Flower Mound had 2 TD Receptions.

The Ohio State Defense that held their opponents to 1 TD in the 3 Playoff Games were led by Adam “Wheels” Schleder  of Flower Mound who had 3 Interceptions, including 1 for a Touchdown. 

The Offensive and Defensive Line of Jett Casillas, Owen Martin, Austin Kuyon, Chris Simonelli and Cale Pennington, all of Flower Mound, was a brick wall that contained the Buckeyes Opponents and allowed the Buckeye’s Intricate Offense to roll over their opponents.

The defensive backs and linebackers of Cade Axeline, Dalton Sturrock, Ryan Crispin, Andrew Kelley, Tanner Stanley and Everett Eads all contributed key plays throughout the playoffs to allow the Buckeyes to shut down their opponent’s offense. 

The Buckeyes were coached by Ed Kuyon, David Rogers, Chris Simonelli, and Sean Sturrock.

Pictured front row from left: Tanner Stanley, Andrew Kelley, Ryan Crispin, Adam Schleder, Zach Auerbach, Cade Axeline, Jake Simonelli. Second Row: Jett Casillas, Everett Eads, Dalton Sturrock, Owen Martin, Boston Barron, Cale Pennington, Austin Kuyon, Ryan Rogers. Back Row: Asst. Coach David Rogers, Head Coach Ed Kuyon, Asst. Coach Chris Simonelli. Not Pictured: Asst. Coach Sean Strurrock

Related Articles

Popular This Week