Denton County is stepping up to assist customers during the second year of the “Two Steps, One Sticker” program for vehicle inspection and registration.
Beginning on March 1, 2016, the transition year ends, and vehicles will have one convenient expiration date for inspection and registration.
Here is what Denton County vehicle owners need to do from that point forward: Take a look at the date on your vehicle registration sticker then follow the two steps.
Step 1: Pass a vehicle inspection no earlier than 90 days prior to your registration expiration and retain your vehicle inspection report. To find your nearest inspection station in Denton County, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety’s (DPS) website.
Step 2: After your vehicle passes inspection, renew your registration online, by mail or in person at the Denton County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office, and your inspection status will be verified electronically.
Remember that your vehicle inspection and registration will expire on the last day of the month that’s indicated on your sticker
“Following the two steps will help ensure a smooth registration renewal process,” said Denton County Tax Assessor Collector Michelle French. “Before coming to our office or submitting your registration renewal online or by mail, be sure to pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before your sticker expires.”
For example, if your registration sticker expires in August 2016, you can pass your inspection as early as June 3 which is 90 days before your sticker expires on August 31, 2016.
The state of Texas stopped issuing vehicle inspection stickers on March 1, 2015, as a result of House Bill 2305 that passed during the 83rd legislative session (2013). The Denton County Tax Assessor-Collector’s office has been working closely with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles to implement the changes required by law.
For more information, visit www.TwoStepsOneSticker.com or http://tax.dentoncounty.com.