Municipal and school board elections Saturday

Southern Denton County voters will go to the polls this Saturday to elect municipal and school board candidates in a number of local races.

There are contested elections in Argyle, Bartonville, Argyle ISD and Lewisville ISD.

Elections were cancelled due to uncontested races in Copper Canyon, Double Oak, Flower Mound, Highland Village, Lantana, and Denton ISD.

All three incumbents on town council are seeking another term. In Place 3, Joan Delashaw is being challenged by Eric Lamon. Incumbent Marla Hawkesworth is facing off with John Tuttini in Place 5. Joey Hasty is running uncontested in Place 1.

Meet the Argyle candidates here.

Listen to a candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here.

Argyle ISD
Six candidates are vying for three at-large seats on the Argyle school board: John Bitter, Kim Campbell, Craig Hawkesworth, Steven Moore, Wes Timmons and William Wolfe. Incumbents Kevin Faciane, Peggy Miller and Jim Haltom did not file for re-election.

Argyle ISD voters will also decide the fate of a $45 million school bond addressing capacity needs, facility renovations, and athletic updates and improvements.

Meet the Argyle ISD candidates here.

Listen to the Argyle ISD candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here.

There will be a new mayor this May, as Doug Tobe and Mayor Pro Tem Bill Scherer vie for the seat left open when longtime mayor Ron Robertson resigned last November.

The Place 2 council race pits Jacyln Carrington against incumbent Norma Harrington. In Place 4, Betty Medlock is challenging incumbent Gary Marco.

There is also a proposition on the ballot to reauthorize a sales tax of one-fourth of 1 percent for street repairs and maintenance. Bartonville adopted the sales tax in 2002 and state law requires that it be reauthorized by voters every four years.

Meet the Bartonville candidates here.

Listen to the town council candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here. Click here to listen to the mayoral candidate forum.

Lewisville ISD
Kristi Hassett, Mary Smith and Krista Stone are running for the Place 6 seat currently held by Mike McDaniel, who is not running for re-election. Tracy Scott Miller is challenging longtime trustee Carol Kyer in Place 7.

Meet the LISD candidates here.

The Cross Timbers Gazette sponsored a televised Lewisville ISD candidate forum on April 16 at Flower Mound Town Hall. Watch the forum here.

Polls will be open this Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.  Visit or call 940-349-3200 for polling locations.

Related Articles

Popular This Week