Southern Denton County gears up for municipal and school board elections

Southern Denton County voters will go to the polls starting this Monday to elect municipal and school board candidates in a number of races.

There will be contested elections in Argyle, Bartonville, Argyle ISD and Lewisville ISD. Elections were cancelled due to uncontested races in Copper Canyon, Double Oak, Flower Mound, Highland Village, Lantana, and Denton ISD.

All three incumbents on town council are seeking another term. In Place 3, Joan Delashaw is being challenged by Eric Lamon. Incumbent Marla Hawkesworth is facing off with John Tuttini in Place 5. Joey Hasty is running uncontested in Place 1.

Meet the Argyle candidates here.

Listen to a candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here.

Argyle ISD
Six candidates are vying for three at-large seats on the Argyle school board: John Bitter, Kim Campbell, Craig Hawkesworth, Steven Moore, Wes Timmons and William Wolfe. Incumbents Kevin Faciane, Peggy Miller and Jim Haltom did not file for re-election.

Argyle ISD voters will also decide the fate of a $45 million school bond addressing capacity needs, facility renovations, and athletic updates and improvements.

Meet the Argyle ISD candidates here.

Listen to the Argyle ISD candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here.

There will be a new mayor this May, as Doug Tobe and Mayor Pro Tem Bill Scherer vie for the seat left open when longtime mayor Ron Robertson resigned last November.

The Place 2 council race pits Jacyln Carrington against incumbent Norma Harrington. In Place 4, Betty Medlock is challenging incumbent Gary Marco.

Meet the Bartonville candidates here.

Listen to the town council candidate forum moderated by The Cross Timbers Gazette here. Click here to listen to the mayoral candidate forum.

Lewisville ISD
Kristi Hassett, Mary Smith and Krista Stone are running for the Place 6 seat currently held by Mike McDaniel, who is not running for re-election. Tracy Scott Miller is challenging longtime trustee Carol Kyer in Place 7.

Meet the LISD candidates here.

The Cross Timbers Gazette sponsored a televised Lewisville ISD candidate forum on April 16 at Flower Mound Town Hall. Watch the forum here.

Early Voting

Early voting for the May 10 election runs through Tuesday, May 6. There are numerous locations to cast your ballot early. Click here for Denton County early voting locations.

Visit or call 940-349-3200 for more information.


Related Articles

Popular This Week