Highland Village awards contract for FM 2499 pedestrian tunnel

The Highland Village City Council on Tuesday approved a resolution awarding the bid for the FM 2499 pedestrian tunnel trail connection project to North Rock Construction in the amount of $1,017,598.

A pedestrian tunnel was constructed under the FM 2499 roadway in 2010 in conjunction with the TxDOT expansion of FM 2499. The tunnel was closed pending the completion of the Castlewood Trail section. City Trail currently exists on the east side of FM 2499.

This project will connect City Trail to the tunnel and then construct the Castlewood Trail on the west side making the connection to the east and west sides of Highland Village.

Council received the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) for fiscal year 2013. The report represents the yearly audit of city finances and records. The auditors Pattillo, Brown & Hill, L.L.P. assigned an unqualified opinion of the city’s financial statements, which declare the statements present fairly the financial position of the city.

Council reviewed and extended City Manager Michael Leavitt’s employment contract for an additional five years.

“Our city manager, Michael Leavitt, is trusted and respected in the community and amongst city staff. His leadership and innovation are proven in our economic development successes, the acquisition and development of Doubletree Ranch Park, and our continued financial stability,” said Mayor Pat Davis.

Council also reviewed and extended City Secretary Diane Callahan’s contract for one year.

“Diane is consistent, dependable and accurate in carrying out her responsibilities. She takes pride in the work she does for our residents and the Council,” said Davis. “We are fortunate to have valued experience in these two critical positions within our city.”

Also at the meeting, council approved the site plan for Capital One Bank to be located at the northwest corner of FM 2499 and FM 407 in The Shops at Highland Village.

Council approved a resolution cancelling the May 10 general election for Councilmember places 1, 2, 4 and 6. The city received one application for each place. Mayor Pat Davis (Place 1), Michelle Schwolert (Place 2), Patrick Coon (Place 4) and John McGee (Place 6) were declared elected and will begin their new terms on May 13, 2014.


Related Articles

Popular This Week