Local municipal and school elections take shape

The deadline has passed to apply for a place on the May 11 ballot and here is a look at who has thrown their hats into the ring.

Flower Mound

There will be a new face on town council in Place 1 as Mike Walker and Joy Bowen have filed for Kendra Stephenson’s seat.

Walker sits on the town’s Planning & Zoning board, a position he was appointed to last fall.

Bowen has been a vocal opponent of the Lewisville ISD proposed rezoning.

Stephenson had filed to run for a second term but withdrew her application on March 4.

Jean Levenick will face off against newcomer Tami Ryan in Place 5.

Ryan said her primary reason for running for council is her opposition to the town’s recent changes to the SMARTGrowth criteria for schools.

In Place 3, Mark Wise will run unopposed for another term.


Sitting Place 3 council member Peggy Krueger will be Argyle’s new mayor this May.

Mayor Matt Smith and Place 1 council member Joey Hasty filed for the mayor’s seat but both withdrew their applications on March 4.

Place 2 council member David Wintermute, who is seeking his second term, is being challenged by Kay Teer.

Jeff Cantrell was the only candidate to file for the Place 4 seat, currently held by Bonny Haynes.  Haynes is stepping down this May after serving 10 years on council.


Two out of three Bartonville council seats drew opponents.

In Place 3, Bill Scherer will challenge incumbent Ryan Litherland.

Jim Langford has filed to unseat council member Bill Reaves in Place 5

Longtime council member Carla Anderson did not draw an opponent.

Lewisville ISD

In the Lewisville ISD, all three board of trustee seats will be contested.

Lewisville resident Paige Shoven will face off against Dr. Mark Welding of Highland Village for the Place 3 seat that was left vacant last year with the resignation of Jeff Knapp. Shoven ran unsuccessfully for Place 1 on the school board last May.

Flower Mound resident Kris Vaughn and Jared Brueckner of The Colony filed to run for the Place 4 seat, which will be vacated by Julie Foughty who announced that she will not run again.

Over in Place 5, Trustee Brenda Latham is being challenged by Flower Mound resident Ryan Collinsworth to win a second term.

Argyle ISD

Two at large seats on the Argyle School Board are up for grabs this year. The three-year terms of Trustee Steven Moore and the unoccupied seat of former school board member Brenda Alexander are up this May.

Along with Moore seeking another term, new faces include Greg Aune, Steve Merka, Brian Ratcliff and Brain Kanzaki.

Denton ISD

All three incumbents on the Denton ISD school board have filed to run again, along with two newcomers.

Donna Woodfork of Denton is challenging Mia Price in Place 4.

Charles Stafford will seek another term in Place 5 against Denton resident Prudence Sanchez.

Glenna Harris is running unopposed in Place 3.

Unopposed Races in Double Oak, Copper Canyon and Highland Village

The status quo will be maintained in several towns.

Highland Village city council incumbents Charlotte Wilcox (Place 3), Fred Busche (Place 5), and William Meek (Place 7) drew no challengers and will keep their respective seats.

In Copper Canyon, four-term Mayor Sue Tejml will serve for another two years, along with incumbent council members Jeff Mangum and Charlie Nicholas.

There was almost a contest in Double Oak, but John Maynor withdrew from the council race to allow Dr. Ara Minassian and Steve Durbin to serve their third and second terms, respectively.

Mayor Pro-Tem Mike Donnelly filed to run for the mayor’s seat left open with the passing of Mayor Tom Pidcock last July.

April 11, 2013 is the last day to register to vote for the May 11 election. Early voting begins Monday, April 29, and runs through Tuesday, May 7. 

The Cross Timbers Gazette will host a Candidate’s Forum on Sat., April 20, at 6 p.m. at Flower Mound Town Hall for Flower Mound Town Council and LISD Board of Trustee candidates. The event will be recorded and rebroadcast on FMTV through the election season.

Related Articles

Popular This Week