Voters to decide town, school races Saturday

Voters will head to the polls Saturday between 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. to determine the outcome of numerous municipal and school board elections across southern Denton County.  Here is what you need to know before you head out to vote:

Flower Mound
The “NFL” trio of Mayor Melissa Northern, Place 2 Councilman Al Filidoro, and Place 4 Councilman Steve Lyda are running as a ticket similar to their 2010 campaign.

Sitting Councilman Tom Hayden and retired resident Al Cloud have Mayor Northern’s seat in their sights.

Bryan Webb is challenging Filidoro in Place 2.

Steve Dixon, a former Town Council member, and Jay Cannon, president of the Staton Oak Estates HOA, are looking to unseat Lyda in Place 4.

Meet the Candidates: Flower Mound

Videos of Flower Mound candidates that participated in a forum sponsored by the Flower Mound Republicans Club can be found here.

Flower Mound Candidate Forum at Town Hall

Flower Mound voters will also have a say on the fate of 12 Town Charter Amendments. Click here to see the proposed amendments.

Flower Mound voters who reside west of FM 2499 will vote at the Flower Mound Public Library, 3030 Broadmoor Lane, while residents who live east of FM 2499 should cast their ballot at the Flower Mound Police and Courts Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick.

Click here for Flower Mound polling locations according to precinct.

Highland Village
There will only be one race in the city, as two sitting councilmen – Patrick Davis and Bill Irwin – are vying for the mayor’s seat that will be vacated by Scott McDearmont.

Only one candidate has filed to run in each of the available council seats:  Michelle Schwolert will take Irwin’s seat in Place 2, Louis Robichaux has secured a fourth term in Place 4, John McGee will serve a second term in Place 6, and Frederick Busche will fill the remaining term of Patrick Davis in Place 5 if Davis is elected Mayor.

Meet the Candidates: Highland Village

Click here to watch the video from the Highland Village Candidate Forum sponsored by the Highland Village Women’s Club.

There are three board seats up for election in both of Lantana’s Fresh Water Supply Districts (known as Denton County Fresh Water Supply District #6 and Denton County Fresh Water Supply District #7).

It’s a crowded field in Fresh Water Supply District #6, as eight residents have filed: Bob Baird, Jim Bridges, Louie Bustillos, Fred Gaspar, Bobby Gentile, Kurt Sewell, Joe Wetegrove, and incumbent Jim VanVickle.

In less-populated District #7, incumbent Alex Teusink and newcomers Todd Beggs, Jim Lieber and Steven Kyle Martini are on the ballot.

The top three vote-getters in each district will win seats on their respective boards.

Meet the Candidates: Lantana

Lantana residents will vote at Bartonville Town Hall, 1941 E Jeter Street, Bartonville, TX 76226.

Three council seats are in play, and although Joey Hasty, Dona Schroetke and Jackie Thomas are all running for re-election, Schroetke and Thomas are looking to swap seats and filed for different places than where they currently sit.

Meet the Candidates: Argyle

Longtime Mayor Ron Robertson, along with Jim Farrell and Gracie Egan’s council terms are up. Both Mayor Robertson and Place 2 Councilman Farrell will run unopposed. This will be Robertson’s sixth term in office and Farrell’s second.

Jim Strange is challenging Egan’s bid for a second term in Place 4.

Residents can also participate in a local option election that if successful, would allow the sale of liquor for off-premise consumption in town.

Meet the Candidates: Bartonville

Argyle ISD
A total of five candidates filed for two at-large seats in the Argyle ISD.

Incumbents Wendee Long and Randy McKellar and joined by candidates Eric Fields, Spencer Jefferies, and James Manos.

Meet the Candidates: Argyle ISD

Denton ISD
Place 1 trustee Dr. Curtis Ramsey is retiring at the end of his term this month and his seat has attracted retired teacher Barbara Burns and active parent Sheryl English.

Dr. Jeanetta Smith is running unopposed in Place 2.  Smith was first appointed to the board in October 2006 to fill the unexpired term for Place 2, which was vacated when her husband, Dr. Sterling Smith, died.

Meet the Candidates: Denton ISD

Lewisville ISD
Place 1 trustee Tom Ferguson is not seeking re-election, and his seat has drawn the attention of former trustee Kathy Duke, June Ehinger, Tracee Ali, and Paige Shoven.

Vernell Gregg is being challenged in Place 2 by former LISD employee Trisha Sheffield and Cornelia Bekker.

Meet the Candidates: Lewisville ISD

Videos of LISD candidates that participated in a forum sponsored by the Flower Mound Republicans Club can be found here.

Voting precinct numbers have been changed and new voter registrations cards have yet to arrive in the mail. Visit the Denton County Elections website to locate your polling place.

The Cross Timbers Gazette will post election results on our website as they become available Saturday evening.


Previous articleKicking the cans
Next articleLocal Briefs

Related Articles

Popular This Week