Sunday, May 22, 2022

Burgess announces winners of Congressional Art Competition

U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess and the 2019 Congressional Art Competition Finalists (photo courtesy of Burgess’ office).

Congressman Michael Burgess (R-TX) announced last week the winners of the seventeenth annual 26th District Congressional Art Competition.

Anu Lal, a sophomore art student of Chana Jayme at Lewisville High School – Harmon Campus, won the Grand Prize with her photograph entitled “Dawn.” As the Grand Prize winner, Anu will have her artwork displayed for an entire year in the U.S. Capitol and is invited to participate in a national ceremony honoring winning artists in Washington, D.C. this summer, according to a news release from Burgess’ office.

“Each year, the Congressional Art Competition highlights the artistic achievements of local students,” said Dr. Burgess. “It is a privilege to celebrate talented North Texans, and I am grateful to the many students and teachers who participated.”

Sarah Wainwright, a senior at Aubrey High School and a student of Andrew Scott, won First Place for her colored pencil drawing entitled “Framework.” Sarah will have her artwork displayed in Congressman Burgess’ Lake Dallas district office for the next year.

The “Texas Choice” winner was selected by popular vote in a virtual gallery on Congressman Burgess’ website. Amanda Choi was the winner of this category for her artwork entitled “Hot n Cold.” She is a junior at Westlake Academy and her art instructor is Gail James.

Burgess honored competition finalists at a reception last week, hosted by the Greater Denton Arts Council, at the Patterson-Appleton Art Center. The juried competition was judged by professional artist Millie Giles. The competition was open to public, private and home-schooled high school students residing in or attending schools in the district.

The jurist reviewed the artwork in the virtual gallery and determined contest finalists based upon artistic merit. She selected a “Best of School” Award for one student from each school. The Juror’s Awards were based on her appraisal of artwork that had a high level of artistic merit and execution ranking under that of the Best of School Award. The 90 finalists presented their physical artwork to be judged for the Grand Prize and First Place, and all were recognized at the reception.

Burgess represents Texas’ 26th district, which includes Denton County and part of Tarrant County.

Mark Smith
Mark Smith is the Digital Editor of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

Related Articles

Popular This Week