Sunday, September 25, 2022

Lantana: One board stays familiar, another gets makeover

Lantana voters granted Max Miller and Donna Robichaux second terms on the Fresh Water Supply District #6 board over challenger Beka Weaver on Saturday.

Miller received 159 votes, Robichaux earned 147 votes and Weaver had 73 votes.

Miller and Robichaux were the first Lantana residents ever elected to the district in May 2006. They replaced two non-resident board members that were originally appointed by Lantana’s developer when the district was created in May 2000.

“I want to thank the residents for giving Max and me another opportunity to serve our community,” said Donna Robichaux.

“We both worked hard during our first term and are ready to roll up our sleeves again going forward.”

In Lantana’s other Fresh Water Supply District race, Andrew Kloser and David Ware were the top two vote-getters over Robert Smith and incumbent Mike Shaw in the first election in District #7 since residents moved into the district.

Kloser had 37 votes, Ware received 34 votes, Smith got 20 votes and long-time incumbent Shaw had 9 votes.

Incumbent James Cassels, who is currently serving as President, did not file to run again.

With the two new directors, the #7 board swings from a majority of non-residents to 4 out of 5 residents for the first time.

Director Charles Lee is the sole non-resident remaining on the board.  His term is up in May 2012.

Past elections in sparsely populated District #7 were cancelled due to no one applying for a place on the ballot.

The board members will be sworn in during their regular meetings this Thursday, May 13, at the Lantana District office in Bartonville Town Center.  Meeting times and details are posted here.

Related Articles

Popular This Week