Sunday, September 25, 2022

Flower Mound Chamber Hands Out Awards

Before nearly 250 in attendance, 96-year-old Leland Mebine was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Flower Mound Chamber of Commerce Annual Awards Celebration “A Night at the Oscars!” on January 15 at the Embassy Suites Grapevine.

“The Chamber does not present this award every year and there have been only a handful of distinguished recipients over the years, making this an extra special recognition,” said Chamber President, Katy Taggart.

Mebine moved to Flower Mound almost 30 years ago to be near his daughter and her family, and has held leadership positions in the Flower Mound Chamber, Youth and Family Counseling, Friends of the Flower Mound Library, and the Flower Mound Rotary Club. In addition, he served on the Planning and Zoning Commission and on the Flower Mound Town Council.

He continues to be active in the Summit Club, Rotary and the VFW, although he no longer holds leadership positions.  He is also a mentor at Flower Mound Elementary.

“When I became 90,” said Mebine, “I gave up all my positions because I thought younger people should have the opportunity to do these things. Although I feel I would still be quite capable myself, I wanted others to enjoy the things I had enjoyed.”

Other awards presented were:

Citizen of the Year – Paula Kratohvil, Complete Interior Solutions
Volunteer of the Year – Lori Elsey, YaYa’s House
Ambassador of the Year – Max Miller, The Cross Timbers Gazette
Business the Year – Verizon

Pictured above (L to R): Bill Collins, 2009 Chairman of the Board; Leland Mebine; Andy Eads, 2010 Chairman of the Board; and Chamber President Katy Taggart.

Related Articles

Popular This Week