LISD announces 2017 National Merit Finalists

Lewisville ISD  announced 47 high school seniors were recently named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

“We are extremely proud of the 47 students who have earned this prestigious honor. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication our students, staff members and parents, who have supported them throughout their educational careers,” LISD Superintendent Dr. Kevin Rogers said.

To become a finalists, semifinalists and their high schools must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the semi-finalist’s academic record, participating in school and community activities, demonstration of leadership abilities and honors and awards received.

A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s performance.

The students represent .5 of 1 percent of the nation’s high school graduates.

The following FMHS and Marcus students were honored:

Flower Mound High School
Nicholas Bartholomew, Cedric Bernier, Matthew Bodenmiller, Nicolas Chae, Anurag Dhillon, Anthony Donaldson, Clara Dew, Kirtana George, Elizabeth Grace Hanna, BrieAnn Harris, Jacob Hochfelder, Aditya Iswara, Abel Kim, Taewon Lee, Keven Li, Kylie Long, Aahlad Madireddy, Sara McCann, Juhi Patel, Sahana Prabhu, Eric Rackelin, Kartik Reddy, Emily Spiek, Chase Stober and Michael Sullivan.

Marcus High School
Hope Anderson, Jaeyoon Cha, William Gould, Kelly Mowery, Madeline Saunders, Jonathan White and Michael White.
CTG Staff
CTG Staff
The Cross Timbers Gazette is a locally-owned and operated regional newspaper and website covering community news and people in southern Denton County, TX, including the communities of Argyle, Bartonville, Canyon Falls, Copper Canyon, Double Oak, Flower Mound, Harvest, Highland Village, Lantana and Robson Ranch.

Related Articles

Popular This Week