Friday, June 2, 2023

Flower Mound Emergency Center earns Lantern Award

FMEC FLOWER MOUND EMERGENCY CENTERFlower Mound Emergency Center (FMEC), a department of HCA’s Medical Center of Lewisville, has been recognized as a recipient of the Emergency Nurses Association Lantern Award.

The award recognizes a select group of emergency departments that exemplify exceptional practice and innovative performance in the areas of leadership, practice, education, advocacy and research.

FMEC is one of only 11 hospital emergency departments nationwide to receive the Lantern Award this year.

“This award reflects our continued commitment to provide compassionate, quality service to our community and the entire Denton County area,” said Brandy Farrer, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, Chief Nursing Officer for Medical Center of Lewisville. “Our goal is to deliver excellent family-centered care while striving to positively impact the way patients and families experience emergency healthcare services.”

The Lantern Award is a visible symbol of an emergency department’s commitment to quality, presence of a healthy work environment and accomplishment in incorporating evidence-based practice and innovation into emergency care.

Successful applications demonstrate a variety of diverse initiatives throughout the application with quantifiable outcomes, sustained improvements and innovative processes. A team of reviewers thoroughly evaluate the submissions through a blinded review process.

Flower Mound Emergency Center is a provider-based emergency department featuring 12 beds, including two pediatric-themed rooms, a trauma/code room, two negative pressure rooms, a laboratory, and onsite imaging.

The emergency department opened in the fall of 2009 and provides emergency services for both ambulance and walk-in patients 24 hours a day. FMEC was the first provider-based emergency facility of its kind in Dallas/Fort Worth.

FMEC was the first and only Texas facility to receive the inaugural Lantern Award in 2011. It is one of only 13 hospitals nationwide to have received the award twice.

The Lantern Award recognition is valid for three years. The emergency team will receive the award at Emergency Nursing 2016 in Los Angeles this September.

The Lantern Award is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, who is credited with changing nursing from an untrained job to a skilled, science-based profession. She is referred to as the “Lady of the Lamp” for her actions during the Crimean War when she worked deep into the night, bringing a lantern with her as she tended to wounded British soldiers as they slept.

CTG Staff
CTG Staff
The Cross Timbers Gazette News Department

Related Articles

Popular This Week