Sunday, October 2, 2022

Early voting underway

Early voting is underway for the May 8th municipal and school district elections. 

Offices up for election include:

Bartonville Mayor and two Town Council seats
Copper Canyon Town Council – three seats
Denton ISD Board – three seats

Flower Mound Mayor and two Town Council seats
Lantana FWSD #6 and #7 seats
Lewisville ISD Board – three seats

Flower Mound voters will also decide the fate of a proposal to purchase land and build a new soccer complex at Chinn Chapel and Waketon, and sell the existing complex on FM 407.

Bartonville voters will consider two propositions relating to the town’s sales tax rate: The reauthorization of the one quarter of one percent local sales tax for street maintenance and repair, and the creation of a permanent Crime Control and Prevention District with a proposed sales tax rate of one quarter of one percent.

If both propositions pass, Bartonville will have the maximum state allowed sales tax rate of 8.25%.

In Copper Canyon, a $2.5 million bond proposal for street and bridge improvements is on the ballot.

Residents can cast their ballot between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. daily this week and between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. next Monday and Tuesday at the following southern Denton County locations:

– Double Oak Town Hall, 320 Waketon, Double Oak (also this Sat, May 1, from 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm)
– Highland Village Municipal Complex, 1000 Highland Village Road, Highland Village 
– Flower Mound Police and Courts Building, 4150 Kirkpatrick, Flower Mound (also this Sat, May 1, from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm)
– Lewisville Municipal Annex, 1197 W. Main Street, Lewisville 
– Carrollton Public Library, 4220 N. Josey, Carrollton  
– Justin Municipal Building, 415 N. College, Justin 
– Trophy Club MUD, 100 Municipal Drive, Trophy Club (also this Sat, May 1, from 8:00 am – 12:00 pm)
– Corinth City Hall, 3300 Corinth Pkwy. Corinth
– Joseph A. Carroll Building, 401 W. Hickory, Denton
– Denton City Hall, 215 E McKinney St., Denton (also this Sat, May 1, from 10:00 am – 2:00 pm)

Voters in Copper Canyon can vote early only at Copper Canyon Town Hall, as the town is handling its own election instead of contracting with Denton County.

Early voting wraps up on Tuesday, May 4th. Election Day is Saturday, May 8, from 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.

Related Articles

Popular This Week