Monday, February 26, 2024

Lantana officials seek reelection

Lantana’s Fresh Water Supply District #6 board members Max Miller and Donna Robichaux announced Monday that they are seeking their second term in office this May.

Miller and Robichaux were the first Lantana residents elected to the District 6 board in 2006.  They replaced two board members that were originally appointed by the developer when the district was created in May 2000. 

Three more residents – Ross Ferguson, Jim VanVickle, and Adrian Weaver – joined them on the board in 2008.

“I have enjoyed helping make a difference on the board during my first term,” said Miller, an eight-year Lantana resident and CEO/Publisher of The Cross Timbers Gazette.

“There is plenty more work to do, and I look forward to the opportunity to continue serving my community.”

Robichaux, one of the first residents of Lantana, said, “I learned a lot since being elected in District 6 four years ago and am excited about my role in helping to make Lantana a better place to live and raise a family.”

In Lantana’s other Fresh Water District, incumbents James Cassels and Mike Shaw are also expected to run for reelection.

Both Cassels and Shaw have been serving on the District 7 board since the political subdivision was established in 2000.  Although both men own property in Lantana, they are not residents of the development.

Past elections in sparsely populated District 7 have been cancelled due to no one applying for a place on the ballot.

Board members terms are four years.  The board meets at least once a month at the district office in Bartonville Town Center to conduct district business with responsibilities similar to those of a town council.

Election forms to file for office are available by contacting Kelli Dabbs at 713-621-3707 during regular business hours. All applicants must have their completed forms returned by March 8 at 5:00 p.m.

Residents can determine which district that they reside in by clicking here.

Early voting begins April 26 and runs until May 4.  Election Day is May 8.

Related Articles

Popular This Week