Denton County Republicans recognize volunteers

Richard Steenson and Sam Anderson, both of Flower Mound, were among the honorees at the Denton County Republican Party Volunteer Dinner on Nov. 15 recognizing its activists from around the county.

Sam Anderson took top honors from the Flower Mound Area Republican Club for his exemplary work on their behalf. 

The prestigious Chairman’s Award went to Richard Steenson of Flower Mound, the Party’s First Vice Chair of Political Affairs. Steenson has helped build the Denton County Republican Party in many outstanding ways, according to Chairman Dianne Edmondson, who presented the award. In addition to his work as the DCRP’s Vice Chairman of Political Affairs, his service as 2012 Victory Chair has been invaluable to the Party.

Dave Smith, precinct chair in Lewisville, received the coveted Precinct Chair of the Year Award, originated in 1998 to recognize the Denton County Republican Precinct Chair who has fulfilled his/her responsibilities in an exemplary manner. In presenting the award to Smith, Connie Hudson, who won the award in 2007, praised Smith for his personal contact with his constituents. Smith has participated in several voter registration drives and is always ready to help in any way he is asked.

The DCRP’s highest award, that of Outstanding Volunteer, was presented by Deon Starnes, a previous recipient of the award. The award went to Connie Hudson of The Colony, the Party’s Third Vice Chair of Precinct Chair Development, in recognition of her exemplary training of the DCRP’s precinct chairs, as well as years of unselfish volunteerism at many events and within county community organizations in numerous ways.

GOP clubs from across the county recognized their Outstanding Members. Those honorees included: Susan Passariello of Argyle (Denton Republican Women’s Club);   Rudy Cajka of Robson Ranch (Denton County Republican Assembly); Brenda Shepherd of Denton and Labib Basta of Lewisville (Republicans at Conservative Toastmasters); Judge Kimberly McCary of Lewisville (Denton Republican Club); Terri Miller of Frisco (Frisco Area Republican Women’s Club); Shirley Crouch of Lewisville (Lewisville Area Republican Club);  Shirley Spellerberg of Corinth (Denton County Republican Tea Party); Susan Lucas of  Frisco (Frisco Area Republican Club): Sam Anderson of Flower Mound (Flower Mound Area Republican Club); Scott Prater of Denton (North Texas College Republicans Club); Barbara Singleton of Plano (Golden Corridor Republican Women);  Eric Mahroum of Lewisville (Young Republicans of Greater Denton County); Kathleen Wazny of Robson Ranch (Robson Ranch Republican Club); and Richard Hayes of Denton (Pachyderm Club of Denton County).

Additionally, the Headquarters volunteers were honored and special recognition was given to all veterans attending.

The event was emceed by State Republican Party Chairman Steve Munisteri and National Committeeman Dr. Robin Armstrong gave the keynote address. Both were recognized by Chairman Edmondson for their outstanding volunteerism and the countless hours they devote to the Party.

Over 200 people from across north Texas attended the event, according to Mrs. Edmondson.


Related Articles

Popular This Week