Denton County Republicans name scholarship winners

The Denton County Republican Party announced their two scholarship award recipients for 2012. 

Libby Goins of Flower Mound and Rey Johnson of Frisco were selected to each receive a $500 scholarship.

Goins is a full time student at the University of North Texas where she is majoring in History and Political Science.

She has been involved with the Denton County Republican Party for over five years, currently serving as the DCRP’s Sergeant-at-Arms.  An active member of the North Texas College Republicans Club, she was elected as its secretary for the 2012 school year.

Goins has volunteered for many campaigns, including the Ron Simmons for State Representative District 65 Campaign, the Ted Cruz for Senate Campaign, and the Matt Krause for State Representative District 93 Campaign. She has worked as an intern for Congressman Michael Burgess, and spent the summer of 2012 in Washington D.C. interning with Phyllis Schlafly of Eagle Forum.

Rey Johnson graduated fourth in his class from Frisco High School in June 2012 with an outstanding 4.0 GPA. 

A National Merit Commended Scholar, his awards include: President’s Education Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence and University Interscholastic League Scholar Award.

Johnson has also been politically involved in his community as a volunteer in several campaigns and organizations.  These include serving as a volunteer in the Fallon for Texas Campaign, the Turner for Texas Campaign, and the Frisco Tea Party.

He is also a Life Scout of Boy Scouts of America and is on the verge of completing the requirements to obtain the rank of Eagle Scout. He is attending Brigham Young University this fall.

“These are two outstanding and exemplary young Texans that represent the epitome of the Denton County Republican Party,” said Denton County Republican Party Chairman Dianne Edmondson.

“Each is a tremendous asset to their community and to Denton County.  Our future is bright with talented young men and women like our two 2012 scholarship winners.”

Related Articles

Popular This Week