Realtors group endorses local candidates

The Governmental Affairs Committee of the Greater Lewisville Association of Realtors recently announced their endorsements of area town and school board candidates.

Committee members sent invitations and interviewed candidates for Highland Village, Flower Mound, Argyle, Lantana, Lewisville, Lewisville ISD, and Denton County Tax Assessor at the Association’s office on March 26 and March 28.

Some of the topics discussed included solutions to the economic and fiscal constraints facing the towns, challenges for aging infrastructure, plans to attract new homeowners, questions regarding continued growth, water and sewer issues, plans for maintaining school excellence, budget cuts, and school programs.

After deliberation, the endorsements from GLAR were as follows:

Flower Mound:
Tom Hayden – Mayoral Candidate
Bryan Webb – Town Council, Place 2
Steve Dixon – Town Council, Place 4

Highland Village:
Bill Irwin – Mayoral Candidate
Louis Robichaux – City Council, Place 4
Fred Busche – City Council, Place 5

Lewisville ISD:
Kathy Duke – Place 1
Vernell Gregg – Place 2

Mayor Dean Ueckert – Mayoral Candidate
Neil Ferguson – City Council, Place 2

Denton County Tax Assessor:
Marc Moffitt

Committee members abstained from endorsing candidates in Lantana and Argyle.   

Election Day is May 12 for the municipal races, with early voting running April 30-May 8.

The Denton County Republican Primary to determine the Denton County Tax Assessor is May 29, with early voting May 14-25.

Related Articles

Popular This Week