Saturday, November 26, 2022

Teachers of the Year will be honored

Members of the Teachers Communications Committee of the Denton Independent School District have named 31 outstanding educators as Jostens Teachers of the Year.

The teachers will be honored at a special presentation by the Denton ISD Board of Trustees at a reception and open house at 6 p.m. Tuesday, April 13, in the Professional Development Center, 1212 Bolivar in Denton.

At the presentation, the district’s top two educators, Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year, will be named. These two will represent DISD at the Regional XI level, which includes more than 60 school districts.

Jostens was added to the name of the award, Jostens’ Teachers of the Year, because company officials wanted to honor all the schools’ Teachers of the Year by donating a gold ring to each honoree, a project valued at more than $20,000.

In 2004, the company designed the special Teacher of the Year ring for Denton ISD’s top educators. The project is now a tradition for the company and district staff, school administrators said.

The following year, San Bay Studios created a special T-shirt to give to all the Teachers of the Year and Candy Haven initiated sponsoring the reception. This year, Community Coffee and Stanley Tools-Black & Decker have stepped forward to also become sponsors of the event.

The nominees from the Lantana area to be honored April 13 include Blanton kindergarten teacher Thea Turner, Michelle Clayton, second-grade teacher at E.P. Rayzor, Erin Turek, Harpool fine arts teacher, and Shanna Stovall, language arts teacher at Guyer H.S.

Related Articles

Popular This Week