Sunday, September 25, 2022

FM Thespians Advance to National Competition

Student actors from Flower Mound High School traveled to Corpus Christi last November for the Texas International Thespian Society convention, where they competed in several categories.

The following students advanced to the national ITS competition, which will be held in Nebraska this June:

Monologue – Callie Hooper
Solo Musical Theater – Nathan Goodrich
Duet Musical Theater – Hunter Johnson and Robin Pratt
Group Musical Theater – Audrey Sharp, Chynna Walker, Calli Lynch, Krista Mitchell, Emily Emmett, Jordan Lee, Jacob Hammonds, Nick Watkins, Nicole Artzer, Cole Carter, Nathan Goodrich
Costume Design – Kelly Belter

In addition, the FMHS musical entry, “Pippin”, was selected an alternate Mainstage show at the National convention.  Team Techie and Team Make Up Design received Honorable Mention status.

Pictured above are (back row, L to R): Robin Pratt, Jacob Hammonds, Nick Watkins, Nathan Goodrich, Calli Lynch, Hunter Johnson; Center row: Cole Carter, Audrey Sharp, Nicole Artzer, Emily Emmett; Front Row: Krista Mitchell, Jordan Lee, Kelly Belter, Callie Hooper, and Chynna Walker.

FMHS Junior Erin Roberts (pictured left) was recently chosen for a production of “Our Town” sponsored by the Texas International Thespian Society.

Over 120 applicants from all over the state auditioned at the state convention in Corpus Christi in November 2009.

Erin was one of 25 students who were selected for the play, which will be directed by Luis Munoz, head of UIL Drama.

Over the next year, Erin will be travelling to various rehearsals throughout the state to prepare for the performance of “Our Town” at the 2010 state ITS convention.  The show will then be considered for inclusion at the national convention in the summer of 2011.





Submitted by Janet Mitchell, Publicity Chair, Flower Mound High School Theatre Boosters

Related Articles

Popular This Week